PRESS RELEASE: ANERA Names New Board Members

October 12, 2011 – Washington, DC – ANERA is pleased to announce the appointment of seven new members to its Board of Directors for the 2011-2012 term.  They represent a range of business experience and knowledge of the Middle East where ANERA provides humanitarian and development services.

Mona Aboelnaga, president & CEO Proctor Investment Managers, is chair of ANERA’s Arts and Culture committee.  Curtis Brand, retired CEO of Mobil Saudi Arabia, is a former ANERA board chair.  Ramez Hakim, is director of RMH Consulting and former Middle East Partner with Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.

Dr. Jay Schnitzer, professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School, is director, Defense Sciences Office, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). Randa Fahmy Hudome, president of Fahmy Hudome International is a former board member and has been named vice-chair for the 2011-2012 term.

John Richardson, author and former diplomat, was ANERA president from 1973 to 1977.  Abdallah Simaika is associate at Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP; and Rochdi Younsi is director of International Government Relations,ExxonMobil.

Board Chair Ambassador (ret) Edward (Skip) Gnehm welcomed the new members to the board, which will now number 36.  “We are excited by the addition of such qualified professionals who bring not only a breadth of knowledge and experience but also a deep commitment to ANERA’s mission.”

The board meeting took place one day after ANERA’s 2011 annual dinner, which raised more than $400,000 for its in-kind program, which delivers medicines, medical supplies, hygiene and other basic materials to Palestinians and marginalized communities in Lebanon, Jordan, West Bank and Gaza.

For more than 40 years, ANERA has been a leading provider of development, health, education and employment programs to Palestinian communities and impoverished families throughout the Middle East.  In FY 2011, the relief and development agency delivered more than $60 million of programs to the people of the West Bank, Gaza, Lebanon and Jordan